Chemistry Honors Day Convocation

The Chemistry Department honored its student at the annual Chemistry Honors Day Convocation on April 4th.  The following students received the top chemistry student honors.  For a full list of award recipients go to the graduate and undergraduate award pages.

  • Outstanding Chemistry Undergraduate Student Award: Jesse Gettinger
  • Outstanding Chemistry Undergraduate Research Award: Morgan Whitaker
  • American Institute of Chemists Award:  Evan McConnell
  • Outstanding First-Year Graduate Teaching Award:  Rachael Albury
  • Outstanding Second-Year Graduate Student Award: Ian Adams
  • Outstanding Third-Year Graduate Student Award:  Archana Panikar
  • Oustanding Chemistry Graduate Student Award:  Caleb Hill and Parker McCrary

Gamma Sigma Epsilon Inducts New Members

The Delta Beta Chapter of Gamma Sigma Epsilon welcome the 2014 induction class on April 3rd.  Gamma Sigma Epsilon is a national chemistry honorary society.  Students who have completed 14 hours of chemistry courses with a 3.3 GPA in chemistry and overall are eligible to apply for member ship in GSE.

2014 inductees

  • Cameran Beg
  • Haley Burhans
  • Elizabeth Cook
  • Katherine Donaldson
  • Sarah Fleisher
  • Sawyer Foyle
  • Christopher Griffith
  • Ryan Hacherl
  • Lauren Hagler
  • Erin Hein
  • Rachel Honan
  • Katlyn Hughes
  • Elle Kaplan
  • Thomas Ludwig
  • Max Mittenthal
  • Lisa Marie Morgan
  • Julia Murphy
  • Joseph Neff
  • Jocelyn Newman
  • Jacob Owen
  • Shanna Phillips
  • Meredith Rickard
  • Mallory Smith
  • Samantha Tilson
  • James Vegrzyn
  • Kindle Williams

Chemistry students receive A&S Honors

Congratulations to the Chemistry majors who were recognized at the College of Arts & Sciences Honors Convocation on April 4th.

  • Dean’s Award of Merit:  Ronneshia Jackson and Garrett Taylor
  • Distinguished Undergraduate Scholars: Margaret Johnson, Savannah Reach, Eric Wenznger, Anna Willis
  • Outstanding Senior Award: Mary Katherine Sweeney and Garrett Taylor
  • Outstanding Junior Scholarships: Evan McConnell, Mary Katherine Sweeney, Sergei Wallace

Students win A&S graduate awards

Congratulations to Mier An who received the College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation award and to Mingyang Chen who received the College Outstanding Research by a Doctoral Student award. Mier earned her PhD under the directly of Dr. Laura Busenlehner and Mingyang was mentored by Dr. David Dixon.

Congratulations December Graduates

Congratulations to the Chemistry students receiving degrees in the December Commencement ceremony.

Amy Grano PhD, advisor Dr. Martin Bakker

Virgil Jackson PhD, advisor Dr. David Dixon

Justin Kreil PhD, advisor Dr. Gregory Szulczewski

Harsimran Singh PhD, advisor Dr. Laura Busenlehner

Xueyu Zhang PhD, advisor Dr. Arunava Gupta

Ge Deng MS

Marcus Johnson MS

Sharifa Love MS

Bryce Morgan MS

Jue Wang MS

Xiao Wang ACS-certified BS

Alyshah Lakhani BS

Dr. Mier An receives A&S Outstanding Dissertation Award

Congratulations to Dr. Mier An who was selected as one of three recipients of the College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Dissertation Award for her dissertation entitled “Inhibition of an E.coli Glycosylase, MutM, by Non-native Metals.”  Dr. An’s dissertation will be considered for the University-wide Outstanding Dissertation Award.

3-Minute Thesis Winners

Congratulations to Steven Kelley, Greg Dye, Joseph Meany, and Leah Block who were the top four finishers in the Chemistry Department 3 Minute Thesis Competition. They will represent the Department in the University-wide competition.

Steven Kelley (Rogers): A Study of Covalency in Actinides and Lanthanides using N-Donor Ionic Liquids

Greg Dye (Street): Nano-Crystals: Chemical Ordering at the Smallest Scale

Joseph Meany (Woski): Molecular Electronics- Beyond the Pocket Calculator

Leah Block (Rogers): Chitin Supports for Drug Release

Faculty Position Available in Materials Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry seeks to fill a position at the Assistant Professor rank in the area of Materials Chemistry to begin on August 16, 2014. The successful candidate is expected to develop a vigorous, externally funded research program and to have a strong commitment to teaching at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. Commitment to excellence in both undergraduate, including Introductory Chemistry, and graduate teaching is required including mentoring both undergraduate and graduate research students. The area of research is open, but areas complementary to existing interdisciplinary programs at The University in alternative energy or sustainability are of particular interest.  For more information