Congratulations August Graduates

The Department congratulates students who received their degrees at the August Commencement ceremony. PhD Chinenyeze I. Nwankwoala, Redox Auxiliary Mediated Catalysis of Organic Thermal Reactions Stilbene Isomerization and Aza-Claisen Rearrangement Advisor: Dr. Silas Blackstock MS Farhad Akbari Afkhami Kyle G. Black Chance M. Boudreaux Nneamaka Enweani David B. Frempong Zachary R. Lee Chelsea L. McMillen […]

Read More… aboutCongratulations August Graduates

Kress receives NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Congratulations to chemistry alumna Rachel Kress, who has received an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.  Rachel graduated summa cum laude with an ACS-certified Chemistry degree in May 2017.  She performed undergraduate research with Dr. David Nikles on developing a method for determining local temperatures of nanoparticles.  She is currently in the PhD program at Rice University. […]

Read More… aboutKress receives NSF Graduate Research Fellowship

Dr. Ayanjeet Ghosh Joins the Faculty

Dr. Ayanjeet Ghosh, currently a postdoctoral associate at the University of Illinois, will join the Department as an assistant professor in physical chemistry in August.  Dr. Ghosh earned his PhD at the University of Pennsylvania in 2-D IR spectroscopy.  He has held postdoctoral positions at the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Wisconsin.  Dr. […]

Read More… aboutDr. Ayanjeet Ghosh Joins the Faculty

Congratulations Graduates

The department is pleased to congratulate students receiving degrees at the May commencement ceremony. PhD Juliette Commodore, Mass Spectrometry Studies of Peptides Cationized by Trivalent Metal Ions Advisor: Dr. Carolyn Cassady Dokyong Kim, Investigation of Protein-Protein Interactions in the SUF Pathway for FE-S Cluster Assembly in Escherichia Coli Advisor: Dr. Patrick Frantom John Lightcap, Observation […]

Read More… aboutCongratulations Graduates

Dr. Leung Promoted

Congratulations to Dr. Diana Leung who has been promoted to associate professor.  Dr. Leung is an NTRC faculty in the department who provides instruction in our general and organic chemistry courses. […]

Read More… aboutDr. Leung Promoted

2018 Arduengo Lecture: Tobin Marks

Prof. Tobin Marks, Northwestern University Technical Seminar:  “Surface Science Meets Homogeneous Catalysis” 12:45 PM, April 12, 2018, in 1093 Shelby Hall General Audience Seminar: “Soft Matter and Hybrid Solar Cell Interfacial Science” 4:00 PM, April 13th, 2018 in 1093 Shelby Hall.  A reception will follow in the Shelby Rotunda. Tobin J. Marks is the Vladimir N. Ipatieff […]

Read More… about2018 Arduengo Lecture: Tobin Marks

Congratulations Honors Day Awardees

Congratulations to the Chemistry and Biochemistry students who received Department awards during Honors day. Outstanding General Chemistry Students: Audrey Allen, MacKenzie Brannan, Jacey Lemonds, Amelia McKee, Michelle Moore, Andrew Ravine, Ethan Reeves, James Thompson, Amber Thibeaux, Abby Whitfield Outstanding Performance by a Nursing Major: Casey Coggins Outstanding Organic Chemistry Student Award: Ryan Tuckey, Kyle Singletary, […]

Read More… aboutCongratulations Honors Day Awardees

Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards

Congratulations to the students doing research in the Department who received Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards. Amber Gomez Mentor: Dr. David Dixon Title: Computational Studies of the Electron and Fluoride Affinities of Early Actinide Oxides and Oxo-Fluoride Complexes James Howard Mentor: Dr. Kevin Shaughnessy Title: Application of Air-Stable Palladium(II) Precatalysts to Suzuki Cross-Coupling Reactions and […]

Read More… aboutRandall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards

Students win Goldwater Scholarships

Two students associated with the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry have been awarded prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships. Elizabeth Rowe is a dual Chemistry and Chemical Engineering major.  She is involved in research on novel polymeric materials with Prof. Paul Rupar. Donna Xia is a Chemical Engineering major.  She is involved in research on computational […]

Read More… aboutStudents win Goldwater Scholarships