Gamma Sigma Epsilon inducts 2017 class

The Delta Beta chapter of Gamma Sigma Epsilon inducted 35 outstanding students to the organization on April 13th.  GSE is a national honor society that recognizes outstanding Chemistry and Chemical Engineering majors or minors who have completed 14 hours of chemistry courses and have earned a 3.3 GPA.  The Delta Beta chapter has been active at UA since 1924.  The 2017 inductees are:

  • Colin J Abbott
  • Henry William Atkinson
  • Kelsey Sue Bailey
  • Madyson Ivory Brown
  • Seth Miller Butler
  • Ellis Reed Crabtree
  • Wade B. Davis
  • Sally-Ann Katherine DeLucia
  • Ashley R. Eberly
  • William Jacob Freeman
  • Ashley M. Gilliam
  • Joline Shirley Hartheimer
  • Kenichi N. Haynie
  • James R. Howard
  • Olivia G. Howell
  • Alisha L. Isbell
  • Andrew Stephen Jent
  • Maggie Andrew Jones
  • Lindsay Marie Kendall
  • Hannah Hyun Kim
  • Monica Bryn Kirby
  • Stefan Eric Knorr
  • Cole A. Labhart
  • Elliot J. Lakner
  • Mary Katherine Moore
  • Tyler Frederick Morgan
  • Eric Andrew Mussell
  • Taylor Daniel Perkins
  • Cara Frances Pridmore
  • Ruby Nicole Roberts
  • Sebastian J. Rowe
  • Amy Caroline Saunders
  • Rachel C. Talton
  • Grace Kelli Taylor
  • Donna Xia

Congratulations to Chemistry Award Winners

The Department of Chemistry congratulates the students who received departmental awards during the Chemistry Honors Convocation on Friday, April 7th.

Undergraduate Student Awards

  • Outstanding Performance by a Nursing Major Award:  Rachael O. Castillo
  • Outstanding General Chemistry Student Award:  Mackenzie Brannan, Russell Clarke, Adam Holzhauer, Lauren Mussell, Ryan Tuckey, Amber Wesolowski, Colin Bush, Jacob Eagle, Matthew Kiszla, Julia Sponholtz, James, Weiss, Hayden Willis
  • Outstanding Organic Chemistry Student Award: Brennan A. Fitzgerald, Cole M. Johnson
  • Ashlyn M. Lemmen, Tyler F. Morgan, Alaric L. Roll, Sebastian J. Rowe, Jordan L. Smith
  • Outstanding Analytical Chemistry Award (Sponsored by the ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry): Tyler Morgan
  • ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Student Award (Sponsored by the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry): Mitchell Baumer
  • Outstanding Chemistry Undergraduate Student Research Award:  Jeremy Hitt, John Lundeen
  • Outstanding Chemistry Undergraduate Student Award:  James Howard, Lara Scott
  • American Institute of Chemists Award:  Rachel Kress

Graduate Student Awards

  • Outstanding First-Year Graduate Student Teaching Award:  Zachary Lee, Rudradatt Persaud
  • Outstanding Second-Year Graduate Student Award:  Michael Ihde
  • Outstanding Third-Year Graduate Student Award:  Dalton Burks, Louis Reisman
  • Outstanding Chemistry Graduate Student Award:  Sopheavy Siek
  • Outstanding Chemistry Masters Thesis Award:  Ben McCormick
  • Outstanding Chemistry Dissertation Award:  C. J. Pruitt
  • Outstanding Chemistry Dissertation Research Award:  Archana Panikar

Chemistry students receive college awards

Dr. Archana Panika received the College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Dissertation Research Award.  Dr. Panikar earned her PhD in 2016 under the direction of Prof. Arun Gupta.  Her dissertation title was, Metal Oxide Thin Films by Chemical Vapor Deposition for Photocatalytic Water Splitting.  This award is given each year by the college in recognition of excellence in research by a student completing the PhD degree.

Samantha Dyroff, a senior Chemistry major, received the Dean’s Award of Merit from the College of Arts & Sciences.  Each year, the Dean chooses four outstanding seniors to receive this award.

Nicole Chambers, a senior Chemistry major, received the Distinguished Undergraduate Scholars Award.  This award is given to graduating seniors who have received all A or A+ grades throughout their career at UA.

Natalie Kidd and Melissa Uehling, junior Chemistry majors, received the Outstanding Junior Scholarship sponsored by the A&S Leadership Board.

Student winners at UA research conference

Congratulations to Chemistry students who were recognized at the UA Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Conference.

Michael Outlaw, 4th place oral presentation, Natural Sciences and Math Division.  Michael does research with Dr. David Dixon.

Samantha Dyroff, honorable mention poster presentation, Natural Sciences and Math Division.  Samantha does research with Dr. John Vincent.

Dr. Gupta receives SEC Faculty Achievement Award

Dr. Arunava Gupta, Distinguished University Research Professor in the Departments of Chemistry and Chemical & Biological Engineering has been selected as the UA SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner.  Each year, one faculty member from each SEC member school is selected for this award based on their outstanding contributions to teaching and research.  The campus winners are eligible for the SEC Professor of the Year award. Dr. Gupta’s research focuses on development and application of nanostructured materials for use in information technology and alternative energy.

Dr. Gupta named 2017 MRS Fellow

The Department congratulates Dr. Arun Gupta who has been named a 2017 Materials Research Society (MRS) Fellow.  The title of MRS Fellow honors those MRS members who are notable for their distinguished research accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research, world-wide.  Dr. Gupta was recognized “for pioneering research on the growth, properties and applications of heteroepitaxial thin films and nanostructures of magnetic and superconducting oxides.”  The award will be presented in April at the MRS Spring Meeting and Exhibit in Phoenix.

Applications for GSE Chemistry Honorary Society being accepted

The Delta Beta chapter of Gamma Sigma Epsilon, a national chemistry honorary society, is accepting applications for the 2017 induction class.  GSE is open to Chemistry and Chemical Engineering majors and minors who have demonstrated academic accomplishment at UA.  Eligible students will have completed 14 hours of chemistry courses by the end of this semester and have a GPA of 3.3 or higher for their chemistry courses and overall.  For more information about GSE and to apply for induction, please see the GSE web page.

Congratulations December Graduates

The Department of Chemistry congratulates its students who received degrees at the Winter Commencement ceremony on December 10th.

  • ACS-Certified BS degree
    • Jillian Houston
  • BS degree
    • Shaw Klein
    • Amy Nealon, magna cum laude
    • Harold Sledge
  • PhD
    • Ge Deng, Dissertation: Chromium: Binding Studies with Transferrin and Peptide EEEEGDD and Its Effect on Colorectal Cancer
      Advisor: John Vincent
    • Siqi Guan, Dissertation: Application of Hydrogen Deuterium Exchange Mass Spectrometry in Protein-Ligand and Protein-Protein Interactions
      Advisor: Patrick Frantom
    • Thomas Hester, III, Dissertation: Experimental and Theoretical Studies on the Electronic Properties and Dissociation Reactions of Gas-Phase Metal Oxide Nitrate Complexes
      Advisor: Daniel Goebbert
    • Huaiyuan “Ethan” Hu, Dissertation: Part A: Arenepolythiols Synthesis and Doping Study of Semiconducting Metal-Organic Framework; Part B: Mechanistic Study of the Bis(Trineopentylphosphine)Palladium Catalyzed Buchwald-Hartwig Amination
      Advisors:  Kevin Shaughnessy, Thomas Vaid
    • Archana Panikar, Dissertation: Metal Oxide Thin Films by Chemical Vapor Deposition for Photocatalytic Water Splitting
      Advisor: Arunava Gupta
    • Zhichao Shan, Dissertation: Surface Enhanced Nanostructured Electrode Materials for Solar Energy Harvesting and Conversion
      Advisor: Shanlin Pan
    • Minli Xing, Dissertation: Solution Structure Determination for the Cys74 to Ala74 Mutant of the Catalytic Domain of Zoocin A
      Advisor: Russell Timkovich
    • Dong, Wenzhao, Dissertation: DNA Complexes Containing Novel Aromatic Residues.
      Advisor: Stephen Woski