Chemistry Students Receive College Awards

Dr. Archana Panika received the College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Dissertation Research Award.  Dr. Panikar earned her PhD in 2016 under the direction of Prof. Arun Gupta.  Her dissertation title was, Metal Oxide Thin Films by Chemical Vapor Deposition for Photocatalytic Water Splitting.  This award is given each year by the college in recognition of excellence in research by a student completing the PhD degree.

Samantha Dyroff, a senior Chemistry major, received the Dean’s Award of Merit from the College of Arts & Sciences.  Each year, the Dean chooses four outstanding seniors to receive this award.

Nicole Chambers, a senior Chemistry major, received the Distinguished Undergraduate Scholars Award.  This award is given to graduating seniors who have received all A or A+ grades throughout their career at UA.

Natalie Kidd and Melissa Uehling, junior Chemistry majors, received the Outstanding Junior Scholarship sponsored by the A&S Leadership Board.