Drs. Metzger, Rogers, and Timkovich named professor emeriti

The UA Board of Trustees have adopted resolutions conferring emeritus status on Prof. Robert Metzger, Prof. Robin Rogers, and Prof. Russell Timkovich.

Dr. Metzger retired from the department in August 2020 after 34 years as a member of the chemistry faculty.  Dr. Metzger’s research focused on molecular electronics and Langmuir-Blodgett films.  He published over 230 papers and was received the UA Blackmon-Moody Oustanding Faculty award in 1998.

Dr. Rogers served as a faculty member in the department from 1996 to 2014.  He was the Robert Ramsay chair of chemistry from 2005-2014 and was named a University Distinguished Research Faculty in 2004. His research in crystal engineering and applications of ionic liquids resulted in over 850 publications.  He is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society and the Royal Society of Chemistry.  Dr. Rogers received the Blackmon-Moody Outstanding Faculty Award in 2009.

Dr. Timkovich retired from UA in August 2020 after more than 35 years as a faculty member in the department.  His research focused on the biosynthesis of heme and protein structure determination by NMR.  Dr. Timkovich served as the director of the NMR facility, during which he led efforts to obtain new NMR spectrometers and oversaw the move of the facility to Shelby Hall.