Greg Robinson (PhD, ’84) Elected to National Academy of Science

Congratulations to Dr. Greg Robinson (PhD, 1984) who has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors a scientist can receive.  Dr. Robinson earned his PhD under the direction of Prof. Jerry Atwood.  He has been a faculty member at the University of Georgia since 1995 and is currently the UGA Foundation Professor of Chemistry.  Dr. Robinson’s research focuses on understanding fundamental problems in the structure and bonding of organometallic compounds.  He has been a leader in the synthesis and characterization of compounds containing multiple bonds between the heavier main group elements (Ga, Pb, Sb, Bi, etc).  Dr. Robinson has received numerous significant awards, including the F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry, the NSF Special Creativity Award, and the NOBCChE Percy L. Julian Award.

UGA press release