NSF grant to fund new MALDI-TOF instrument

The NSF has announced it will fund a proposal entitled, “MRI:  Acquisition of a high performance matrix-assisted laser ionization dual time-of-flight (MALDI/TOF-TOF) mass spectrometer (MS),” through the Major Research Implementation program.  The proposal led by Dr. Carolyn Cassady will provide funds to purchase a state of the art MALDI-TOF mass spectrometer.  The MALDI-TOF instrument will be part of the department’s Mass Spectrometry facility.  MALDI-TOF allows molecular weight characterization of non-volatile compounds, such as biomolecules and polymers.  The instrument will support researchers in the departments of Chemistry, Chemical & Biological Engineering, and Biological Sciences.

Dr. Allred receives DOE Early Career Research Grant

Dr. Jared Allred has received a 5 year, $750,000 Department of Energy Early Career research grant from the Office of Basic Energy Science and the DOE EPSCOR program.  Dr. Allred’s proposal entitled, “Investigation of Short‐Range Ordering in Transition Metal Compounds by Diffuse Scattering,” was one of 59 proposals selected for funding from over 700 submissions.  The DOE Early Career Research Program supports the development of individual research programs of outstanding scientists early in their careers and stimulates research careers in the disciplines supported by the DOE Office of Science.

Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards

The Department is pleased to congratulate students doing undergraduate research with chemistry faculty who were recognized with Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards

  • Hayden Arnold (Dixon):  Hydrolysis Reactions of Actinide Oxide Nitrates
  • John Lundeen (Papish): Synthesis and Studies of pH Activated Metal Prodrugs
  • Michael Royko (Vincent): Use of Metalloprotein Affinity Metal Chromatography to Remove Uranium From contaminated Groundwater
  • Jamie Tesh (Papish): Synthesis of New Molecules for Energy Related Catalysis
  • Donna Xia (Dixon): Bioengineering of C4 Compounds and Aactinide +III and +IV Ion Aqueous Hydrolysis Reactions

Dr. Gupta receives SEC Faculty Achievement Award

Dr. Arunava Gupta, Distinguished University Research Professor in the Departments of Chemistry and Chemical & Biological Engineering has been selected as the UA SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner.  Each year, one faculty member from each SEC member school is selected for this award based on their outstanding contributions to teaching and research.  The campus winners are eligible for the SEC Professor of the Year award. Dr. Gupta’s research focuses on development and application of nanostructured materials for use in information technology and alternative energy.

Dr. Gupta named 2017 MRS Fellow

The Department congratulates Dr. Arun Gupta who has been named a 2017 Materials Research Society (MRS) Fellow.  The title of MRS Fellow honors those MRS members who are notable for their distinguished research accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research, world-wide.  Dr. Gupta was recognized “for pioneering research on the growth, properties and applications of heteroepitaxial thin films and nanostructures of magnetic and superconducting oxides.”  The award will be presented in April at the MRS Spring Meeting and Exhibit in Phoenix.

Dr. Bonizzoni recognized by the Journal of Materials Chemistry B

Dr. Marco Bonizzoni was selected for inclusion in the Emerging Investigators 2016 special issue highlighting rising stars of materials chemistry research by the Journal of Materials Chemistry B. Emerging Investigators 2016 gathers the very best work from materials chemists in the early stages of their independent career, with a special focus on novel design strategies for new functional materials. Each contributor was recommended by the journal’s prestigious Editorial Board as carrying out work with the potential to influence future directions in materials chemistry. Dr. Bonizzoni’s article in the issue is entitled, “Boronic acid-modified poly(amidoamine) dendrimers as sugar-sensing materials in water.”