Ashley Jolly selected for Division of Organic Chemistry Graduate Research Symposium

Ashley Jolly, a PhD candidate in Dr. Marco Bonizzoni’s group, is one of approximately 50 students chosen nationwide to participate in the Division of Organic Chemistry’s Graduate Research Symposium.  The symposium is held annually and is open to roughly 50 students each year.  Students are chosen on the basis of their research contributions in the area of organic chemistry. The symposium gives participants the opportunity to present their research at a prestigious national venue, and to network amongst themselves and with established leaders in the field, who are invited in to act as mentors. The symposium will take place at the University of California – Irvine on July 24-27, 2014. 

Dr. Busenlehner and Dr. Frantom Named A&S Distinguished Teaching Fellows

The College of Arts & Sciences have announced that Chemistry faculty received two of the three Distinguished Teaching Fellows awards for 2014-2017.  Dr. Laura Busenlehner has been named a Distinguished Teaching Fellow and Dr. Patrick Frantom has been named a Distinguished Teaching with Technology Fellows.  The Distinguished Teaching Fellows are chosen on the basis of their outstanding contributions to the teaching mission of the college.  Fellows serve a three year term during which they serve as mentors for college faculty on issues related to teaching.  The awards will be presented during the fall A&S Faculty meeting.

OCTSA Outstanding Staff Award

The Department is pleased to congratulate Ms. April McIntosh who is the 2014 recipient of the Office, Clerical, and Technical Staff Assembly (OCTSA) Outstanding Staff Award.  Ms. McIntosh in a senior office associate in the department and provides support for our endowed chair faculty.

Spring 2014 Chemistry Graduates

The Department congratulates the chemistry students who received degrees during the spring commencement ceremony.

  • PhD
    • Dripta DeJoarder, “Total Syntheses of (-)-Curvularin and Xestodecalactone A, Formal Total Syntheses of (-)-Citreofuran, (+)-12-Oxo-Curvularin, (+)-Sporostatin, Synthetic Efforts Toward (-)-Caylobolide A.”  Advisor: Dr. Michael Jennings
    • Zongtang Fang, “Computational Studies of the Catalytic Reactions of Group IVB and VIB Transition Metal Oxide Clusters.”  Advisor: Dr. David Dixon
    • Sharifa T. Love-Rutledge, “Disproving A Fifty-Five Year Old Myth: Chromium the Essential Element.” Advisor: Dr. John Vincent
    • Parker D. McCrary, “Controlling the Properties of Energetic Ionic Liquids By Stabilizing Reactive Nanomaterials.” Advisor: Dr. Robin Rogers
    • Yu Wang, “The Development and Regulation of Adult Abdominal Segment Reduction in Drosophila.” Advisor: Dr. Laura Busenlehner
  • MS
    • Varun Debbeti
    • Edward C. Ellingsworth
    • Siqi Guan
    • Huaiyuan Hu
    • Cameron K. Miller
    • Christopher R. Redden
    • Katrina A. Staggemeier
  • ACS-Certified BS
    • Daniel E. Castillo
    • Evan L. Horner, cum laude
    • Margaret P. Johnson, summa cum laude
    • Jessica M. Jones
    • Evan W. McConnell, summa cum laude
    • Thomas F. Regan IV, magna cum laude
    • Zoe E. Stamatelos
    • Tabitha P. Sutch
    • Jason J. Wang, summa cum laude
    • Morgan E. Whitaker, magna cum laude
  • BS
    • Alexandra H. Arnold
    • Travis J. Atchley, summa cum laude
    • M. Adam Beg, summa cum laude
    • Jameson T. Bullock
    • Hillary A. Dalton, magna cum laude
    • Courtney M. Farish, cum laude
    • Jeffrey K. Kim, magna cum laude
    • David H. Kracalik
    • Nicholas M. Laskay, summa cum laude
    • Christian R. Smith
    • Mary Katherine Sweeney, summa cum laude
    • Garrett H. Taylor, summa cum laude
    • Victoria A. Vining, magna cum laude
    • Anna E. Willis, summa cum laude
    • Kristi Y. Wu, summa cum laude

Chemistry students receive Goldwater Scholarships

Chemistry major Lynda Truong is one of two UA students to receive a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship.  Lynda is an undergraduate research student under the direction of Dr. Stephen Woski.  Brian Goodell is the other recipient.  Brian is a Chemical Engineering major who does undergraduate research with Dr. David Nikles.

Chemistry students win awards at UA Undergraduate Research Conference

Congratulations to the Chemistry winners at the UA Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Conference

A&S Science and Math Division, Oral Presentations

2nd Place: Megan Johnson, “Palladium-Catalyzed Direct Intramolecular Arylations Using Water-Soluble Phosphine Ligand.” Advised by Dr. Kevin Shaughnessy
4th Place: Shuwen Yue, “Computational Studies of the Conversion of Biomass to Biofuels.” Advised by Dr. David Dixon
Honorable Mention: Travis Atchley, “Donor-Acceptor Cocrystallization for Molecular Assembly.” Advised by Dr. Silas Blackstock

A&S Science and Math Division, Poster Presentations

1st Place: Morgan Whitaker, “Polymer Coated Magnetic Nanoparticles: Formation and Usage for Cancer Therapy.” Advised by Dr. David Nikles
3rd Place: Sarah McFann, “Characterization of Picolinium Quinodimethane under Electro-Optic Device Conditions.” Advised by Dr. Anthony Arduengo
Honorable Mention: Amanda Volk, “Multifunctional Gold Nanoparticles.” Advised by Dr. David Nikles

Emerging Scholars, Sciences, Mathematics & Engineering

1st Place:  Erin Hein, “The Effects of Mutation on Frataxin Metal Binding and Iron-Sulfur Cluster Synthesis.” Advised by Dr. Laura Busenlehner

Chemistry Honors Day Convocation

The Chemistry Department honored its student at the annual Chemistry Honors Day Convocation on April 4th.  The following students received the top chemistry student honors.  For a full list of award recipients go to the graduate and undergraduate award pages.

  • Outstanding Chemistry Undergraduate Student Award: Jesse Gettinger
  • Outstanding Chemistry Undergraduate Research Award: Morgan Whitaker
  • American Institute of Chemists Award:  Evan McConnell
  • Outstanding First-Year Graduate Teaching Award:  Rachael Albury
  • Outstanding Second-Year Graduate Student Award: Ian Adams
  • Outstanding Third-Year Graduate Student Award:  Archana Panikar
  • Oustanding Chemistry Graduate Student Award:  Caleb Hill and Parker McCrary